Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

good strings for slap

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by hova9018, Mar 13, 2006.

1. hova9018

hova9018

Mar 13, 2006
    well im new to the bass, been playing for about two months or so, i've had the sme strings on my bass since the day i bought it, which was about two or so months ago. Today, i wuz goin REAALLY hard on my G string playing Can't Stop, and the thing popped on me. hahaha sorry for the long story... but heres the question: What strings are good for slap and about how much do they run?

2. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

DR FatBeams. The ultimate slap string.

3. I like DR HiBeams

4. +1 on DR Hi Beams... they lose their extreme 'new round wound sizzle' just like any other string, but they maintain a nice bright sound MUCH longer than any other string I've ever played. Also, smoother feel IMO than other Stainless Steel strings.... and a little looser tension than some others.

Depending on your retailer... selling price between $24-$28 dollars for a 5 string set.

5. babaseen

babaseen Don't mean a thing if it ain't got that swing Supporting Member

Apr 15, 2001
    Boston, MA
    La Bella Hard Rockin Steel is ringing my bell now!!! WOW:hyper:

6. +1 for Hi beams. Great string.

Lo Rider stainless steels are great for slap as well.

7. FunkSlap89

FunkSlap89

Apr 26, 2005
    Albany, NY
    what about sunbeams? I love the sound of nickels for slap, but i don't like the feel of hex-cores. Hence the round-core sunbeams. Anyone tried these?

8. greenboy

greenboy

Dec 18, 2000
    remote mountain cabin Montana
    greenboy designs: fEARful, bassic, dually, crazy88 etc