Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

good sustain/playing long notes

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by trocadero, Jun 12, 2005.

1. trocadero

trocadero

Jun 12, 2005
    Gamleby, Sweden
    Hi, my first post.
    I started playing double bass a couple of weeks ago, my main instrument is piano but I thought this would be fun and it really is.
    Well, i try to play some funky basslines, get by walking a F-jazzblues, learn to intonate and so on. Anyway, I was wondering how to get that sound where the walking sounds like one long sound just the pitch changing. When I walk it sounds "boom-boom-boom" and I would like it to sound "daaaaa-daaaaa-daaaa" if you know what I mean :rolleyes:

The best example seems to be Ron Carter. I think he plays really cool lines, it sounds relaxed but it pushes the music ahead(sorry for my language, im swedish and don't know all the english musicterms/expressions yet).

Is it a matter of technique or gear(pickups, amps and so on)? So far I havn't been playing amplified.

EDIT: after I wrote this I listened to Ron Carter on Milies Smiles and it isn't the way I remebered. It has some "boom-boom"-thing over it after all. Well, then Larry Grenadier is the best exampel of the sound I want.

2. KSB - Ken Smith

KSB - Ken Smith Banned Commercial User

Mar 1, 2002
    Perkasie, PA USA
    Owner: Ken Smith Basses, Ltd.
    You are listening to records and mixing engineers, not Basses.

Play the Bass live in a room or hear the person play without an amp and judge. Records can't tell you the natural tone the guy has at all.

Get an Orchestral Bassist to teach you and get a good bow. You will need it to learn the instrument.

3. Tbeers

Tbeers

Mar 27, 2005
    Chicago, IL