Good tone

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Tim Workman, Apr 5, 2003.

1. Tim Workman

Tim Workman

Apr 5, 2003
    Hi all, I'm fifteen and I am the principle trombonist in the Tucson Philharmonia Youth Orchestra, and I study with Steve Gamble and Mike Becker, the latter who often freelances with the Chicago Symphony, and for all you string players, recently had a two week long stint with Yo-Yo Ma and his Silk Road Project. I have been playing the trombone for three years and am preparing to audition for a conservatory (Julliard, Curtis, etc.). Since I often practice upwards of 4 hours a day often for more than two hours at a stretch I happen to have acquired Satchmo syndrome, also known as orbicularus dehisence, or the fraying and herniation of the orbicularis muscle in my lip. Surgery is an option, and while searching for a surgeon who will do this procedure (and do it well :meh: ) I have decided that just in case I don't have this procedure done and for the betterment of the musician in me, I will take up a new instrument. I have already decided and have rented out my instrument of choice and it is the double bass, one because cellists are a dime a dozen, violin is too flitty, and the viola just plain sucks, and number two I come from an instrument that is very versatile, and the bass is just as versatile.