good Trace Elliot stories!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Bass-only, Apr 28, 2002.

1. Bass-only

Bass-only Supporting Member

Oct 9, 2001
    I have been playing bass for 28 years and have owned a multitude of high end amps. I had been currently using a WT800 and WT400 through a Bergie 310 cab. About year ago, I sold a Trace RAH600SMX head (to get the WT800) that I really missed as soon as it left my posession.

While there's no doubt that the Eden heads sound great - I have to say that the RAH600SMX sounds even better to me. I used it this last Saturday for the first time and my sound was tight and very "tube-like". I love the dual compressor!

I've seen a few threads here lately where the Trace stuff was getting some negative comments in the reliability and sound catagories. My last RAH600SMX I used for 6 years with absolutely no problems. I also had a Trace 1210SMX combo that was awesome.

What's the current feeling on the newer (higher end) Trace stuff? Any other satisfied customers out there!?
  2. gidget

Apr 28, 2002
    ive got a gp7 sm 300, dunno if u'd call that high end trace gear, i bought it as a combo with a trace quad+horn, i think my voice coil is shot but i cant find out cuz it seems that trace put their enclosures together in the worst possible way, :mad: the things impossible to take apart, i'd be better off buying a new rig than having the trace repaired :confused:
  3. cheezewiz

Mar 27, 2002
    I bought the 1210SMX amp that "bass only" used to have from him. It is a GREAT combo. I recently added a Trace 1153 single 15 cabinet and the combination of the amp with 4-10s and the 15 cab just make an incredible, deep, punchy sound. I could not be happier with my Trace stuff....
  4. Having had my second Trace rig for 6 months I could only say ecstatic!!!!