Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Good Uprights for Jazz?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by mrjasonpries, Dec 15, 2003.

1. mrjasonpries

mrjasonpries

Dec 15, 2003
    I've been shopping around for a good upright bass for jazz playing, but I have no frame of reference to compare a "good" bass to a "bad" bass, besides the piles of junk at my school. I'm a student, planning on majoring in music (jazz) with my primary instrument being upright, and I'm looking for a good bass between $1000 and $2000.

2. mrjasonpries

mrjasonpries

Dec 15, 2003
    I was also wondering about the company Engelnhardt and the ES9 on this website... http://www.urbbob.com/engelhardt.html

They say engelhardt bought Kay basses...and i just played an old Kay bass the other day, and, it was less than amazing...to say the least, my friends and I shot pool balls at it.

3. mpm

mpm

May 10, 2001
    Los Angeles
    Stop that, you'll hurt the pool balls! Check out (not necessarily in this order) Shen, Eastman, Christopher, and American Standard, for really good laminates and carved tops. I have my own favourites, but I think you should make your own informed decision. They all are readily available in the continental 48 states.

4. mxr255

mxr255 Supporting Member

Jul 21, 2003
    Williamsport, PA
    I would try those companies also. I actually know a couple of guys who are majoring in bass using a Shen Hybrid bass That goes a little above your price range, but would be worth a look. The most important thing with any of these basses is to find a shop that knows what they are doing with the set up process. That can turn any of those basses into completely playable basses for a young jazz musician. Good Luck!

Matt

5. Gufenov

Gufenov

Jun 8, 2003
    Maybe it was a good bass with a poor setup? You said, in an earlier post: