1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Gordi Bros Pub N Grub Gig, Crescent City California

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by rjake007, Dec 3, 2018.

1. rjake007

rjake007

Mar 9, 2018
    Baja, Oregon
    I'm pretty new to TB, but, in the spirit of @BassCliff, @esoxhntr and others that post their gig reports, I thought I'd share my first gig as a bass player and the debut of a project that I play in called Cut It Like The Kings. I've been playing guitar for about 35 years, but switched to bass because the group of dudes I play music with couldn't find a bass player (I found this situation to be common, but I'm hooked and now all I think about are grooves and pockets).

Anyway, we've been rehearsing for about 4 months and decided to put together a couple of acoustic sets, though all we really did was replace the electric guitars with acoustics, add a cajon and sit down on some stools for the performance.

We only played two sets totaling 20 songs - 17 covers and three originals. The covers are Black Sabbath, Alice In Chains, Radiohead, Coldplay, Oasis, Danzig, etc., - essentially REALLY mellow versions of songs by these bands (I have to say that our version of War Pigs is pretty cool - the drummer uses brushes!)

The venue - Gordi Bros is a popular little Mexican restaurant in my area. The owner is very pro-entertainment and loves to support local live music whenever possible.

Below are some pictures taken by me as well as the singer's nephew. We still have to work out a lot of bugs - too much time between songs, singer needs to work the audience a bit more (his own admission) - the little things that keep the energy going. We should probably dress a little better as well.

Anyhow, thanks for looking. Viva TalkBass!

The_Set_Up-1.