Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

got a gig tomorrow and not sure what to solo

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Rafterman, Feb 6, 2002.

1. tomorrow i got a small gig at school and we are playing Oleo.

I have a 32 bar solo and am not sure what chord to use to solo over. I am not that experienced in soloing but i can do it. It's just that i'm not too sure what to solo over.

the song is in Bb, and the rest of the chords are m7, b6, and m6 galore. Can anyone help me out?!...i need tips on what to solo.

2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    PROCRASTIMAN,

"Oleo" is a tune based on the chord changes to "I Got Rhythm", which, along with blues, is one of the most common jazz progressions. You want to learn to blow on rhythm changes by tomorrow??? Man, that's a tall order. And I'm talking Manute Bol here....

The best you can hope to do by then is to be somewhat near the ballpark, and even then you'll be swinging the bat blindfolded, but here goes:

The tune is 32 bar AABA form, which means that the first 8 bars are repeated a total of three times each chorus. Most of these 8 bars are made up of turnarounds in Bb, but there is a definite movement to Eb in bar 6 of the phrase. So, for bare bones ballpark stuff, you could play

Bars 1-5 - Bb Major
    Bar 6 - Eb Major or Eb7
    Bars 7 and 8 - Bb Major

On the Bridge, the simplest changes to play are:

D7, G7, C7, F7 (two bars apiece)

Try using these sounds and do your best, and chalk the whole experience up to "paying dues". People spend many years trying to learn how to blow over Ryhthm Changes, so look at tomorrow as day 1 and don't jump off a bridge if you don't sound like Mingus at the gig.

Good luck, and maybe think about addressing these issues a little sooner than the day before the gig next time, okay?