Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Got a new J-O-B

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by jobu3, May 6, 2005.

1. jobu3

jobu3 Artist formerly known as Big Joe

Feb 17, 2002
    Mountain Top, PA
    I've been pretty unhappy with my present employer. They keep taking more and more from the employees. We got a small raise this year after none last year, but our benefits are going up so that we won't actually see any more money in our checks. They went from us filling out a time card to punching in and out even if you're salaried (which I am). I got in some hot water because I would only take 15 minutes for lunch at the most at 11:00 and we're supposed to take 30 minutes. I was not allowed to flex my time to accomodate this i.e. leave fifteen minutes early if and when time permits. I'm a speech therapist and I work with people who have difficulty swallowing so I am usually very busy through the traditional lunch hours (from 11:30-1:30). I've never had a problem staying late if I had to and I often did without a complaint but now with the punching in and out they wanted me to punch out and come back if I really had to off the clock... I was not offerend any OT and had no luck utilizing comp time. After much haggling, they decided to make me straight salary so I wouldn't have to punch in or out. Then the admin. decided all salaried people might have to punch in and out anyways eventhough it won't count for anything... It's still up in the air. BS in my book.