1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Got money.... Need gear.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mebusdriver, Nov 13, 2010.

1. In the very near future I will be fortunate enough to be allowed to buy whatever type of amp and cabinet I would like. :bassist: This is awesome. HAHA. So I've decided to look at some tube heads..... and I've got a couple questions.

1. Repairs... how often do tube heads require actual work? I see threads here all the time about tube heads crashing and failing at gigs. Are they really that troublesome or am I only seeing the bad. NOTE: I'm an electrical technician so I can fix most anything that breaks..... but who wants to fix stuff all the time?

2. Tubes.. I know they're expensive but how often do I have to replace them? I mean..... whats the average shelf life of a set of tubes?

3. Recommendations... So far I only know that I'm going to check the SVT-VR and the MB 400+. Any other models that I should seriously consider?

4. Music... Seriously.... I play everything from punk rock to jazz. Can a tube head hang in all situations? Are they versatile enough? I'm really a bread and butter tone kind of guy so I don't think this will really matter for me. But you never know.

ok thanks guys. any help is appreciated. if youve got a link to some already posted info I'll be happy to read if you dont wanna type. thanks:help:

2. lomo

lomo passionate hack Supporting Member

Apr 15, 2006
    Montreal
    My 02: I'd divide my budget to get a modular setup so I could have a big rig and a grab'n'go rig. Maybe a tube head, 4 Ohm 410 and 8 Ohm 210 and a micro head. That'll cover it all. If you treat your gear well, it'll last long. Tube sets can last for many years-the bummer is that when it's time to retube it's pricey...up to a few hundred.

3. Should have added that I have an 800rb already.

4. Zitch

Zitch

May 12, 2010