1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Got my hands on an MXR M87. Now what?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by RitchS, Mar 20, 2013.

1. RitchS

RitchS Supporting Member

Oct 5, 2011
    Auburn California
    I've seen these guys get lots o love here and had an opportunity to get one cheap. Now I'm not sure what to do with it. Does it go in front of the chain? The end? Somewhere in the middle?
    On top of that, and I hate to admit this, I'm not totally clear on the purpose of compression. I'm an effects noob.
    Anyone care to hit me in the head with some of their compression knowledge?

2. AndyLES

AndyLES

Aug 25, 2008
    New York
  3. Adamixoye

Adamixoye A PT Pro is cool for worship, right?

Apr 9, 2012
    Occasional Beta Tester for Confusion Studios, Singular Sound, and Source Audio
    In fairness, he said he got it cheap. Now, how cheap, if you don't know what it does, is another question...

4. paganjack

paganjack

Dec 25, 2007
    Los Angeles, CA
    Check out bongomania's FAQ on compressors: http://www.ovnilab.com/reviews/mxrbass.shtml

Compression has two main uses: evening out volume spikes (preventing transients) or getting a really squashed sound. Volume spike flattening is more like limiting (high ratio, high threshold, fast attack, fast release) whereas squashing your whole sound is low-mid ratio, low threshold, med attack, slow release). You can fatten up your sound a whole lot with that pedal, but it's better (IMO) at the subtler effect. It's very transparent. Where you put it in the chain is up to you, compression changes the sound of overdrives and will also change the response pattern of envelope filters.

VERY Generally: Filter > Comp > Overdrive/Fuzz >Chorus/Delay/Verb etc