Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Got my Warmoth body today!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by count_funkula, Feb 1, 2002.

1. I received my Warmoth body today. It's really nice. This Swamp Ash is going to take some work to finish. Very open grain.

I forgot how big a P-bass body is! I can't wait to get started on it.

2. Nino Valenti

Nino Valenti Commercial User

Feb 2, 2001
    Staten Island NYC
    Builder: Valenti Basses
    Post some pictures. I'd like to see it in every strp of production. :)

3. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Cool! Count, keep us up to date. I've never done anything like this before and would like to know how difficult it is.

4. I'm going to start a photo journal of the process and put it on a web page when I'm finished.

I will order the neck and most of the hardware next week.

Here is a picture of what I'm going for. I ordered a white pickguard but I think I will replace it with the tortoise shell look.

This is going to be a blast!

5. Nino,

How did you finish your 4 string Warmoth Jazz? I can't tell if that is a full blown gloss finish or what. It looks great.

I bought the supplies from ReRanch to do a clear gloss finish but I'm wondering if I should save that for my next project and do something easier on this one.

6. Nino Valenti

Nino Valenti Commercial User

Feb 2, 2001
    Staten Island NYC
    Builder: Valenti Basses
    I bought the body/pickguard/brigde on eBay. It has a tounge oil finish.

I originally had a Black body w/BasAss II alla Geddy Lee but I was looking to buy a natural one from Warmoth & I found the one on eBay

7. Do the Reranch thing. I don't think there is a realistic alternative. Swamp Ash has open grain and Reranch tells you to use their grain filler. DO THAT!