Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Got some real beginner questions

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Dave Metts, Dec 29, 2000.

1. Ok, here's the deal. I've had a bass and amp for almost 3 years now, and I've really not progressed as a player at all. That's probably because I've done nothing but play parts of tabs from pre-existing songs. My goal is to get to the point where I can just pick up a bass and play something that sounds decent. Now the catch. What would you suggest I do to get to this level without taking lessons?

I'm a college student so I don't really have the time or money for lessons. That and I feel a bit old (almost 19) to be just starting on lessons. So what are your suggestions for learning to play well and training my ear to pick up basslines from songs? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Dude-
    ...I'm 42 & have been playing electric bass for 28 years & IF I could find a REAL teacher in this God-forsaken area, I'd go for it! Age is irrelevant...Steve Khan didn't begin playing the guitar until he was, like, your age(& in 5 years, he was a member of the Brecker Brothers Band).

If you're finding music a "difficult" endeavor, then join the club. IT DOES TAKE A LOTTA COMMITMENT, DISCIPLINE, & DESIRE. Can you read music &/or rhythmic notation?

3. Thanks for the replies. I think that right now the main problem is the time and money strains. I really don't have the time or money for lessons. As far as taking music classes through the university, that won't work as I'm a computer science major. All of my time for classes must be put into things that directly pertain to my major.