Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Gotta get a Fender, P or Jazz?! PLZ HELP

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bean2k3, Mar 4, 2004.

1. Bean2k3

Bean2k3

Mar 4, 2004
    Alrite, im a former guitarist-turned-bassist (guitar for 2 years, bass for a year), i currently have a 5 string ibanez SR which suits my heavy style playing, being able to hit those low notes while and the active circuitry to boost whichever ends necessary.
    Im currently looking to get a new, simple four string exclusively for slaping. Ive narrowed my selection and price range to Fender's Precision or Jazz bass but im just wondering if anyone would have some constructive feedback or details on the American/Deluxe/Standard series they come in.

You can get me on msn or just reply if youve got any advice, thanks in advance
    Braido

2. Funkize you

Funkize you Guest

Nov 4, 2003
    Westminster Ca.
    If you really want to get a Fender, I would suggest a USED MIM Jazz (MIM = Made in Mexico) but I would suggest you look around for a different Company... Fender is on my bad list...

BTW, BUY USED, it is Much cheaper... Also what amount of money do you wish to spend?

3. christle

christle Supporting Member

Jan 26, 2002
    Winnipeg, MB
    It's all about features.

Standard - made in Mexico often referred to as MIM Fenders. Nice basses (IMO), alder bodies, hot pickups, but not as smooth sounding as the Deluxe Series or the American Series. Also has lower quality parts (tuners, bridge, etc) than the other two series.

Deluxe Series - the country of origin depends on the model. The Aerodyne is Made in Japan, the Zone Deluxe is Made in Mexico as is the Precision Special. Not sure on the Active Jazz. Someone here will know. Better electronics, upgraded tuners and bridges. I like this series quite a bit.