Grace and Cue Notes

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by CEM, Dec 17, 2002.

1. CEM

CEM Guest

Nov 3, 2001
    Cincinnati, OH
    I don't understand the application of grace notes and cue notes - I guess I am not really sure what the difference is. I am new to music notation and the books I have read so far did not explain these concepts to my satisfaction - any help would be great. Thanks
  2. CEM

CEM Guest

Nov 3, 2001
    Cincinnati, OH
  3. Nick Gann

Nick Gann Talkbass' Tubist in Residence

Mar 24, 2002
    Silver Spring, MD
    Grace notes are used to add just a little bit of extra something to a note, The grace note is so short, it really has no actual duration, and it is just there to add a little blurb of sound. Grace notes are optional, and are used at the descretion of sometimes the ensemble director or the individual player.

A cue note can be used for a few different purposes. A cue is sometimes used in large ensembles that might be missing certain parts which need to be replaced.

For example:
    I play tuba, and in many pieces of music, I have cues for instruments like bassoon, baritone sax, bass sax, or contrabass clarinet. Those instruments aren't always found in all groups. If the instrument isn't in the group, I will play the cues so that the part is played. In this case, a cue is used when a part is needed to be played.

The other use for cues that I have experienced is to help follow along in long periods of rest. The tuba parts can have rests that are obnoxiously long, tens and twentys of measures of rest. The cues for other parts are to help follow along without having to count for an obnoxious amount of time.

Sorry for the long post. Someone else could probably explain it all in 3 sentences, but I couldn't find the words to make it shorter.

Hope I helped :)

4. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY