1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Grateful Dead bass question - please help!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Vincent Paul, Nov 9, 2018.

1. Vincent Paul

Vincent Paul

Jan 25, 2018
    Hey Folks,
    I've been playing bass for about 18 months and have been focusing on developing a Phil Lesh-inspired sound/technique, without trying to copy him note-for-note. I use a semi-hollow bass with flatwounds, a heavy pick, and an older style amp/stack setup.

The band I'm in recently performed live and a question came up about my bass line during the spacey/jammy segment within Playing in the Band. The improv jam begins at about 3:09 and continues for a few minutes. The lead guitarist commented that I was playing in an entirely different key than him. I don't hear it and I play by ear, so modes, notes, chords, etc. remain something for me to work on, admittedly.

I am seeking constructive criticism here. Please help.

Attached Files:

Rock Salad likes this.
  2. LBS-bass

LBS-bass Supporting Member

Nov 22, 2017
    California
    The guitarist changed the key. He's right, but you aren't to blame.

saabfender likes this.
  3. Vincent Paul

Vincent Paul

Jan 25, 2018
    Thank you LBS-bass. That's really helpful and thank you for responding. I guess I'm just not hearing him change the key. I'm essentially playing it the same way that I've been playing it for the past few months, but I aspire to improve (don't we all?). Our band has been together for a year.

Rock Salad likes this.
  4. LBS-bass

LBS-bass Supporting Member

Nov 22, 2017
    California