1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Greasebucket Tone Circuit

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by SasquatchDude, Jul 19, 2012.

1. Hi all:

Could somebody please tell me how to go about replacing the Greasebucket tone circuit in my American Special Jazz with the regular tone pot found in the American Standard series?

I was a complete newbie when I started playing last year, and with the advice of friends, I grabbed the cheapest American model I could find. As my own style and taste has developed, I've really come to dislike the Greasebucket. While Fender boasts "rolling off highs without adding bass", I don't like the effect – if I roll off on the tone, I want to get a thick, muddy, bassy tone. Quite frankly, I'm actually after that heavier, fatter P-Bass sound, though I had no way of knowing this when I made my purchase.

I'm also considering dropping in a set of DiMarzio Model Js – any thoughts on that?

Anyhow, thanks for bearing with me during my first post.

2. tastybasslines

tastybasslines Banned

May 9, 2010
    Los Angeles, CA
    I'm interested too...my Highway One P is great, but hate the grease bucket. I was thinking about putting a Bill Lawrence P in there too as the pu is the same as the mexi's I believe...can anyone confirm that? Anyway...I've heard that the pots to use are called "orange" I think....I'd like know how to change the circuit properly. Shouldn't be that hard though.