great sounding rock star rig vs ok sounding portable rigs..

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by glocke1, Jul 27, 2013.

1. glocke1

glocke1 Supporting Member

Apr 30, 2002
    PA
    Ive got two amp/cab setups...

System 1 is a Bagend S15D which I run a Mesa walkabout head through...I've been using this since 1999 or so...It sounds pretty good and is really all that is needed for most bar gigs.

System two (rock star rig) is an eden 2x12 that I am running as follows:
    demeter preamp-AlembicSF2-Eden WT800 (eden is mainly used as a power amp). This system is capable of producing some godlike bass tones.

Now...the conundrum is that sytem 2 is alot more gear to haul around, alot more gear to setup, and takes up alot more space, but sounds way better than system 1.

So, what do people hear prefer ? Good sound, or convenience?

2. Joebarnes

Joebarnes

Oct 4, 2011
    Surrey, BC
    I drag around a STV. Good sound trumps convenience every time. If you're not excited about your sound, you're not going to put in as good a performance.

Never take shortcuts to awesome.

3. bertbass666

bertbass666

Mar 6, 2009
    Always the sound for me.

4. glocke1

Apr 30, 2002
    PA
    haha...thanks for the great sig line.

5. Primakurtz

Primakurtz Registered Nihilist

Nov 23, 2011
    Denver, Colorado
    "Life is too short for a B rig."

6. :D Both.

You just like one of your rigs more than the other. Quite frankly, both of your rigs are quite nice, but neither one is 'state of the art'. If you want to take the time and spend the money, you can get a rig that would would probably like just as much or more than your 'big rig' that would be lighter than your small rig by a large amount.

These days, there is NO compromise regarding weight, size (for the most part) and quality of sound and even max volume in some cases. That being said, even your 'big rig' is not that large or heavy, so I would just get a very good cart (like a Rock 'n roller or something) and be happy!