1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Greetings from a long-time guitarist, noob bassist!

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by Slick51, May 14, 2006.

1. Slick51

Slick51

May 8, 2006
    I'm a fairly decent guitarist playing for 42 years. I've opened for the Spinners to Blackfoot to Delbert McClinton. I received an offer from a band with another super guitarist I've known for over 30 years...he wanted to knock together a blues-based band with a very talented singer we've latched on to, but there's a catch. There's a rhythm guitarist too, and he's solid, with no delusions of being a lead player. SO, I'd be the bassist for half the night, or alternating sets, whatever, to see what happens. I have amassed plenty of guitar gear and want to keep most of it, so I'm just gathering a minimal bass rig until I see how it goes.