Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Greetings from Australia!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Jimmy-X, Jan 1, 2006.

1. Jimmy-X

Jimmy-X

Jan 1, 2006
    Hi bass-folk!

I started playing bass for about 3 as a youth before taking to the guitar. As fate would have it I'm now playing bass in a band, ten years after having stopped.

Anyways, I'm here hoping for advise from (mainly) Australian bass players regarding amps.

The gear situation here is much crappier than in the states, so I was hoping to get some pointers on good second hand rigs in the 300watt+
    range.

Thanks in advance!

2. resol

resol Guest

Feb 21, 2005
    usual questions:
    what type of music do you play?
    what price range?

3. In Perth, theres not really a whole lot to choose from if you're looking at second hand equipment.

But theres a decent range of gear, it just costs more than in the US.
    GK, Ampeg, Hartke, Behringer, Yorkville, SWR, Eden, Mesa Boogie, Warwick, Crate.

I all depends on the type of music your playing i suppose.

4. ras1983

ras1983

Dec 28, 2004
    Sydney, Australia
    what state are you from?

if you're from melbourne, check the basscentre out. they ahve great deals, and have a couple of second hand amps going for good prices at the moment eg a 800rb for $850 or a hartke ha3500 for $695, you should check out their website(i'm sure that guy will look after you and give you a better price). a couple of amps pop up on ebay every now and then aswell.

5. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    They have states in Australia? I thought it was just one big thingie.

6. ras1983

ras1983

Dec 28, 2004
    Sydney, Australia