1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Greetings

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by timmus, Apr 2, 2009.

1. Greetings,

I am a new (sort of) upright owner, having had one in pieces for about 5 years. It was given to me by a guy that saw that the previous owner was about to toss it in the dumpster. This friend knew I'd been looking for one for quite sometime (I've been playing electric bass for about 20 years) so he stopped the guy from tossing it and called me...It was in very poor shape, neck snapped off, fingerboard all but held on by the top 4" or so, top and bottom separating (plytop), no nut, bridge, tail was there believe it or not as was the sound post rattling around inside and the peg was still on it. I bought the stuff it needed from Bob Gulliher (a great guy) a few years back and then it languished as the repair was over my head. I repair most of the stuff on my 8 electric basses but this repair was way outside my expertise.

I have a friend that is a great luthier that felt sorry enough for me to glue the neck back on, repair the finger board and glued the scroll / peg box back on the neck where it had snapped off and cut very roughly the nut and bridge just to hold everything together enough for me to get it home in one piece. Now I have to do the finish work...dress up the nut so it's cut to the right depth, sand the feet on the bridge to fit the top of the bass better, maybe lower the top of the bridge a bit and cut better string slots on the bridge ..but all this to say that another old bass has been rescued.