1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Groove improve

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by brhodeswickett, Nov 1, 2010.

1. brhodeswickett

brhodeswickett

Nov 1, 2010
    I've been playing for about 10 yrs now, and have a pretty good groove overall, but i notice I still tend to rush certain grooves and parts. I've been practicing all the ways I've read about, but wanted to make sure I'm doing the most productive practices or if anyone has timing tips they can send my way.

My timing/groove regimen consists of playing quarter notes at 40 bpm, recording myself and listening to it. I do this for about 20 min a day. I play songs with a great groove with my met at that speed as well. And I play along with recordings of songs to get the feel and form down.

I work with a metronome a lot, but I'm still pushing the beat. I'd love any and all advice!!!

Thanks!

Ben

2. Matthijs

Matthijs

Jul 3, 2006
    Amsterdam
    One thing that helped me is not just practising against a metronome but alternating pushing, being exact in time and dragging and at alternating speeds. You should not concentrate on un-learning psuhing, but focus at getting control over different timings. Also playing different styles of music helps you develop a better ear for timing.

3. il luca

il luca

Oct 31, 2010
    Hi, I have the same little problem on some funky tunes.
    The advice of my teacher is that I have to work with this
    exercise.
    (I try to explain it :D english isn't my language )

You have to need of: metronome, your voice, bass and a solfegge
    book (for the first time and after a bass lines)

Metronome: 60 bpm
    First ex. of solfegge book
    You have to say TA on the sound of metronome, after a few
    warm up with only Ta-Ta-Ta-Ta's voice and metronome you
    add a bass line but you must say TA only on the quarters, you don't