Growth as a bass player.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by count_funkula, Apr 2, 2001.

1. Hello everyone.

I am at a place in my playing where I'm not sure what to do next. I'm not all that good as far as fancy licks and really impressive fretboard wizardry but I decent at holding down the low end and providing a tranition between chords in the song.

I have no decent instructors in my area so I'm really on my own. What do you guys consider to be the best all around bass instructional book available? I'm not very good at reading music but maybe I should be. Standard notation would be fine as long as the first part of the book is on reading.

Lets hear some opinions.
  2. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    this site has an excellent section on reading music...

and it's free to boot! can't beat that. :D
  3. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    I encourage you to also continue your search for a teacher. While it can be very difficult and time consuming, the ends justify the means. Check at local high schools and colleges. Speak to the instructors there and see if they know anybody. I would guess that they would be happy to help you try and find someone. Maybe even check JCs for a teacher or another experienced bassist. It is worth the effort. A teacher can point out things in your style of playing, and in your technique that a book simply can't. Books can be frustrating in that respect, while a good teacher will bring out your best. You say that there are no "decent" instructors, but I encourage you to continue looking. Good luck.
  4. SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Or you could look over some of the posts in the Jeff Berlin/Ed Fuqua forum. There's some good stuff there, in terms of progressing as a bass player.
  5. Jeff Bonny

Jeff Bonny Supporting Member

Nov 20, 2000
    Vancouver, BC
    Originally posted by count_funkula