GS112 and SL112 stacked with TH500

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by lobsterboy, Feb 22, 2017.

1. lobsterboy

lobsterboy

Feb 22, 2017
    Newbie here... I am looking at the following option to get into Aguilar rig affordably. Is there is any disadvantage to combining a GS112 with an SL112 with a TH500 as the head? I have been looking through the forums here and have not seen that combination.

Also, would it be worth combining a GK Neo ii 2112 with either of those Aggie cabs? they are both 8 ohms... Can't quite afford to get two sl112s even though that seems to be the best option...

Anyone?

2. I don't recall the specs on the SL112 but I think they are also 8ohm w/ 350w handling or thereabouts so you should be able to use them together with most heads. Most people say the GS112 has deeper/beefier low end than the SL while the SL is mid forward and the GS is somewhat scooped. Might be a great combo.

3. lobsterboy

lobsterboy

Feb 22, 2017
    What about GK Neo 2X12 with GS112? would that cause the GS112 to fart out?

4. Al Kraft

Al Kraft Supporting Member

May 2, 2016
    Northern Virginia
    Pushed to it's limits with a lot of bass EQ, the 112 cab will quickly be in distress prior to the 212. The TH into two 8 Ohm cabs will provide each with 250 clean Watts, so you won't even be close to trouble on the 212 and the 112 will still be in safe territory - you still need to use your ears and some common sense though.

As for how these various combinations will sound, a lot will depend on the tone/voicing you're looking for and how well those cabs play together. You'll pretty much have to answer that question by listening for yourself. The Aguilar GS and SL, and GK Neo cabs are all very different sounding to my ear and I'm having trouble even imagining them paired up - not good or bad, just strikes me as a strange mixed bag.