1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Guessing on Effects

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by beforeitsallove, Mar 18, 2008.

1. I'm still figuring out what it's going to take to tweak my tone.

I have sound ideas. But no idea on how to accomplish it (because. I'm an effects noob. i relied on tubes to give me all the hardcore-tonality i needed, now i need a little more oomph as i move from just driving my SVT to who knows where with my solid-state-nation, cleaner tones, whatnot.)

Here's what i'd like. (warning possibly-hardcore-and-loud-like-substances)

Song: Julia - Wait Mom and Dad
    (in the slow part i like the... clangy? sound, that's the major emulation issue. I don't know how to procure that... p.s. i do have the rights to temp distribute this song)
    Song: Hoover - Cuts Like Drugs
    (personally between 2 minutes and 4 minutes of that song is what i crave, especially the way the high end fuzzes up a little and then the low end clanks.)
    Song: Neil Perry - Fading Away Like the Rest of Them
    (I don't know if that's 'punch' or what. But also a big fan)
    Song: GlassJaw - Lovebites and Razorblades (Explicit!)
    (They all have like a common sound to them in the way they cut/attack? I want to say it's compression. But when i say cut/attack, I really don't know what i mean yet.)

What pieces do i need? Is the commonality is a compressor and distortion/overdrive?

I perused Bongo's list, keep looking around (and yes searching) on anything that those cats above have done. But. No Dice. And would prefer a pedal (if possible). Price range < $200 per piece.

2. Deluge Of Sound

Deluge Of Sound Banned

Nov 8, 2007
    Maine/Vermont
    Well, I could say that none of those were really hardcore, but that'd be off-topic.