Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Guiding a friend

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by yoshi, Nov 6, 2002.

1. yoshi

yoshi

Jul 12, 2002
    England, London
    hiya, im making this thread to get your opinions on how to help a frined concerning his bass playing.
    ---
    First off, im no pro, not by a long shot, but i do feel as though ive enough knowledge to raise this point.
    --

The thing is, it seems to me as though he's trying to speed right past the basics, and cut straight into slap and three finger picking.

Hes been playing just over 6 months, and constantly informs me of his 'progress' and how he can play so many notes a second, and bands riffs in half the time they do, aswell as how his attempted slap (as in an open E, no follow up pop) is coming along. I know hes probably just enthusiastic, but its obvious that in his rush, hes totally forgot about the foundations, so has a 'pretty naff' technique, from fretting (3 fingers only) to plucking (really yanks the strings).

Each time i tell him the above paragraph, he seems to take it personal, as though i think hes crap, which encourages his attempts moreso.

What would you do in similar circumstances?

2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Let him.
    Some people can't handle advice. They need to make their own experiences.

Maybe encourage him to try joining a band - usually that's a pretty tough eye opener.

3. stephanie

stephanie

Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA