Guitar amp VS Bass amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassplayer321, Jul 30, 2001.

1. bassplayer321

Jul 30, 2001
    Hey i am a beginner and i would like to know the main differences between a guitar and bass amp. Is it also possible to play bass through a subwoofer/tweeter combination. I'm looking for some alternatives to buying an actual bass amp, most cost too much.
  2. from what i know. one is more senitive then the other. A bass amp will sound clearner the the guitar amp. you should be able to get a good amp for about $200. A buddy of mine got a used 200 watt yamaha for about $230.
  3. DON'T, i repeat <b>DON'T</b>, I repeat <b><i>NEVER</i></b> play bass through a guitar amp!!!
  4. bassplayer321

Jul 30, 2001
    I've actually blown out a guitar amp trying that. Is there a safe way to play through a guitar amp? There guitar amps are cheaper, i know this sounds mad ghetto. Are mini amps and those tiny ones that can fit on your palm any good?
  5. I forgot to suggest something. I just bought a headphone amp a few days ago. It's made by Danelectro called the e-studio. It cost me like $50, the sound is good. If your just starting out and playing by your self this would do. The model i have has mad built in ditorition that sounds horrible. It's good, it allows you to realy concentrate on what your playing and you don't wake people up when your pratcing at 3 in the morning.
  6. jasonbraatz

Oct 18, 2000
    Oakland, CA
    if you have a home stereo - you could always get a tiny mixer or headphone amp, plug your bass into the mixer, then run RCA outs to an input on your stereo reciever.

i'm assuming you're not gigging - if you are, bite the bullet and get a real bass amp.

7. Whoa! That's an excessive statement!

It's the SPEAKERS you have to worry about. Same too with plugging your bass into your home stereo (this is not advisable unless you're super careful).