Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Guitar Center [MTD 635] Review

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by EricTheEZ1, Jun 6, 2005.

1. EricTheEZ1

EricTheEZ1

Nov 23, 2004
    Clawson, MI
    Went to Guitar Center in Southfield, MI today and, to my surprise, was able to play an MTD 635! Let me just note that it's the same MTD 635 that's on Ebay right now. That GC sells their nicer equipment all the time. Location: Southfield, is the key.

Norm Stockton (535) was right when he said they make you sound and play better than you normally can. I have little experience with 6 stringers. I sounded horrible on a Warwick 6 I tried. This one made me play chords and grooves and licks better and effortlessly. From the first note, it sounded incredible and pretty much anything you tweak just gives you another very useable tone. I just wish I had the money. :(

The reason I went to GC in the first place was to try out the Digitech Bass Synth Wah. I need an envelope filter and despite the price tags and promises of other EFs, this one sounds the absolute best to me. A couple things aren't great about it, but it's the best EF I've ever tried and that includes all EHX EFs.

-Eric.

2. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    Connecticut
    [​IMG]

Looks nice-I'd love to give one a try.

3. Vic

Vic There's more music in the nuance than the notes. Gold Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Central Illinois
    Staff, Bass Gear Magazine