Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Guitar Effects!

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Microbass, Jan 15, 2003.

1. Hi all, I'm looking for an effects pedal for my guitarist. I'm no expert at effects, nevermind geetar effects!

We're looking for a basic distortion pedal, preferably something with the works - chorus, all the lil things, as well as the ability to 'tone' the distortion. (i.e. amount of contour, depth, you know..).

Stephen has £100 ($160.50) to spend, what d'ya'll suggest? We are planning on going second hand, but suggest whatever!!!

Thanks!

2. CS

CS

Dec 11, 1999
    UK
    Big question...

Ok The fact that you have asked for chorus the works on a distortion leads me to beleive that you/he wants a multi-effects unit. The bad news is that IMHO all of the ones in that price range are very poor plastic things-poor in sound and poor in build as it will be kicked around stage.

If you insist of having the works then the only one I would reccomend is the Digitech RPM 2000. THey have been discontinued so you will have to go sh. I don't know what they go for. Hang on I'll look...

3. CS

CS

Dec 11, 1999
    UK
    OK

http://music.loot.com/scripts/loots...ance=0&Location=0-1048575&SS=0&action=Find+it

There's one and they asking price is £200-which is a little high. Again IMHO the RP2000 is excellent for time based effects and some of the patches are ammazing but a mate of mine uses a Fuzz pedal in conjunction with his (and a wah) he lurks here but never posts (Hi Martin). I agree with him in that the unit is not perfect. I have another mate (what two?) who uses a GT5 (another expensive unit) and supplements it with an od and a wah.

The problem with the works philosophy is that there's always one bit you don't like.

4. CS

CS

Dec 11, 1999
    UK