Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Guitar Player joining the the ranks...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Tony Mig., Jan 29, 2001.

1. Tony Mig.

Tony Mig.

Jan 29, 2001
    Hello all...name here is Tony, and I've been playing guitar for a few years now. I've been kicking around the idea of trying my luck at playing Bass, so I recently put a deposit on a new Fender "Geddy Lee" signature moddel Jazz Bass.
    I'll be stopping by here to pick your collective brains, and ask your typical "newbee" questions. If I ask too many stupid questions, just let me know....LOL....I gotta start somewhere.

2. Glad to see you may convert, Don't worry about stupid questions, we have all asked them at some point, just have a ball, and no matter what just groove.....

3. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Congratulations on your new bass, I have one just like it!

[​IMG]

The Geddy Lee is a great Jazz bass, has a nice slim neck, and the '62 reissue pickups have great tone.

Welcome to the brand new world of being a bassplayer, and welcome to Talkbass!

4. DaveB

DaveB

Mar 29, 2000
    Toronto Ontario
    Welcome Tony...nice to see another guitar convert. Beware though, if you're like I was you'll soon see your guitars sitting on their stands begging you for attention.

5. Tony Mig.

Tony Mig.

Jan 29, 2001
    I know what you mean DaveB, but I don't think they will be lonely for too long.
    The reasons I want to get a Bass are many, instead of blowing my money on a rythum machine to jam with, I'm getting a Bass. It will give me another instrument to learn and practice music with, and I'll be able to record my own Bass rythums to jam to with my guitars.