1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Guitar Player Looking To Go Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Zulujos, Dec 13, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Zulujos

Zulujos

Mar 18, 2014
    Actually just looking to add a bass to the arsenal. Been plowing through demos, reviews, yada yada. Not looking to make a big investment. This, btw, is not another "which bass should I get". I've read those til I'm blue in the face.
    No, the question is 4 string or 5 string. If I was a complete novice I would definitely go 4 string and I may still do that. But having a baritone guitar made me wonder whether it would be cool to have that deep down low B string or whether it's true what I observe with a lot of demos that very seldom does one go to it but instead use it as means to stabilize your right hand. The other side of that argument is, hey, with the 5 string you have everything you need plus an added optional string!

2. buldog5151bass

buldog5151bass Kibble, milkbones, and P Basses. And redheads.

Oct 22, 2003
    Connecticut
    1. What does your music need? I've never needed anything lower than the D with my detuner on my 4 string.
    2. What is more comfortable for you to play?
    3. A 5'er is going to cost a little more, and probably be a little more difficult to sell, since the market is smaller.

pineweasel likes this.
  3. Antisyzygy

Antisyzygy Supporting Member

Dec 8, 2014
    Washington
    What do you plan on using the bass for?

What is your budget?

Fender recently released a 4-string Mustang PJ bass that is short scale (30"). So it should be easier to adjust to coming from guitar scale lengths (~25"). It also has two pretty classic Fender pickups tied to a 3-way switch for a variety of tones.