Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Guitar vs. Drums

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by FenderFan, Jan 22, 2002.

1. FenderFan

FenderFan

Jan 22, 2002
    Hey everyone, hope I can pick your brains...I'm just getting started (but have played guitar for years) and was wondering when I play bass, am I mimicking the guitar lines or the drummer's beat? I think it's the drummer, and if so am I trying to hit my notes with his bass kick on time?

2. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    Mimicking the guitar lines makes for boring music, in my humble opinion. Playing a steady line with the kick drum is less boring, but both can be embellished upon. Locking in with the drummer is essential in that you need to be IN TIME with the band, and in my experience the drummer sure as hell won't be working around you, so it's best to get with the drums. The kick drum is a good place to start, and sometimes it's the way to go. But I see quality bass as something that molds the band together. The guitarists do their thing, the drummers do theirs, and the bass is there to take the best parts of the melody and support and harmonize it, and take the best parts of the rhythm section and make it groove. Leaning too much towards one way or the other makes for unispired playing. I'm still trying to find the balance, as I'm sure most people are, but the fun is in hunting it down, no?

Good luck!

3. cassanova

cassanova

Sep 4, 2000
    Florida
    Alot of bassist's prefer to play off the drummer. You dont have to necessarily play off the kick drum though, you can also play off the snare, or if you want to go one step farther you can subdivide the notes he's playing and play off his high hat. Or even all 3 if you choose.

You can also mimic the guitar line if you choose. It all depends on what your feeling when your composing the music.