Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Guitar work through bass amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bobdob20, Mar 14, 2006.

1. bobdob20

bobdob20

Mar 5, 2006
    I play bass and have a bass amp, but was wondering if a guitar would work through it properly.
    If any one could answer my question that would be great.

2. Yes, it will.

3. Zapp

Zapp

Sep 4, 2005
    Gruene Texas
    my opinions.....
    I play acoustic guitar and e. bass... I am not an expert on Electric Guitar, deliberately, but I do know my stuff on amplifying acoustic guitars with the goal of it sounding like an acoustic guitar at the other end... just real big.
    I LOVE using my old Workingmans 12 with my acoustic rig. It is far superior to ANY "acoustic guitar" amp I have listened to for small/med hall sound. Of course, I must condition and level the signal before it hits the preamp stage of the SWR, and frankly would probably sound as good if I bypassed the SWR pre-, but it works, works, works like magic.

This is not the case with all amps: With my Eden WT-400 sig, there was no way to get a really warm/good guitar sound. Same with an older Hartke head I had, although that one could come closer to what I like.

A real guitarist who can really manhandle a Strat or PRS or whatever would not even consider what you're stating, and probably will not bother to respond.
    z

4. lug

lug

Feb 11, 2005
    League City, Tx
    My guitarist likes to use my ampeg BA112 when he comes over. Gives him some bottom he can't get with guitar amps that size.

5. bobdob20

bobdob20

Mar 5, 2006
    Thanks for the help

6. ibz

ibz

Apr 14, 2005
    Columbus, OH