Guitarist as instructor?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by td1368, May 8, 2001.

1. td1368

Jan 9, 2001
    I've been playing for a couple years and finally decided to start taking lessons. Considering location and convience I found a guitarist who also teaches bass. I know some people don't think that's such a good idea and I'm wondering if I should reconsider.

Are there any drawbacks/ advantages? Any thoughts?
  2. I took lessons for several months with a jazz guitar player. The guy was an excellent teacher.. too bad I wasn't a better student. He knew music theory inside and out, and could readily demonstrate every concept.
    I think if your goal is to learn about music.. theory, etc.. then taking lessons from a guitar player is fine.
    If you're wanting to learn about bass-specific things, like technique, then a bass player might make a better teacher.
  3. I agree completely with Dave. When I first started playing bass, I took lessons from a jazz guitarist. He was really good and he knew his theory well. He got me started with the sight reading and gave me a good foundation of theory. THe problem was that I was too inexperienced to appreciate it at the time. I was 14 and just getting started. I learned all the things he was teaching me, but I was still discovering what the bass was capable of. I wanted to explore slapping and tapping and all the bass specific techniques and tricks. As a guitar player, he wasn't able to show me those things. As a result I wasn't 100% happy at the time and I quit taking lessons for a while.

After that, I tried out a handful of bass teachers. Some of them were really good players, but I haven't found anyone who knew how to teach or was dedicated to teaching as much as he was. This was when I used to live in England. If I were still there, I would look him up and take some lessons today.