1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Guitarist changing to bass, 4 or 5 strings? Cheap or expensive?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Fastfwd, Apr 29, 2006.

1. I've been playing guitar for 10 years but not a lot so I'm still a beginner. I want to try out playing bass because I had an offer to join a band.

Should I start with a 4 strings or 5 strings bass?

Get a cheap 200$ bass and change later or go right away for a bass I will want to keep for years?

2. Minger

Minger

Mar 15, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    Go with whichever you want.

And check out SX's - Rondomusic.net - they're cheap and of very high quality for what you're paying.

3. dangnewt

dangnewt Veteran Dispenser

Jun 6, 2003
    MetroWest Boston
    I'd buy a sub-$200 bass - either used or a new SX. I also switched from guitar and really didn't know what I wanted until I had been playing for a couple of years.

4. Go inexpensive first - if it's a rock gig, you'd want the 5 for the low B string.

But don't give up the guitar - just add to your arsenal of versatility.

I was a jazz guitar major in college (at least for a year), but most of the calls I got to play were for bass all throughout high school and college. 20 years later, I finally put an order in for a quality bass to celebrate playing music for 40 years, and I get 3 guitar gigs in a row.

"You never know what you're going to get." - Forrest Gump
    "Luck is what happens when preparedness meets opportunity." - forget who said it (it's late, and it's MAY!)

5. AxtoOx

AxtoOx

Nov 12, 2005
    Duncan, Okla.
    +1.