1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Guitarist has some Bass questions...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by pingtang, Aug 9, 2007.

1. pingtang

pingtang

Aug 9, 2007
    Hi everyone,

My names Daniel and I'm a guitar player....:help:

Been playing for about 10 years and am about to start playing bass as well. I've been asked by a band to play bass for them so I'll have to learn pretty quick. I've got a few questions for you, any help will be appreciated...

1. Could someone please give me a quick run down of the best bass brands out there? And the differences between the major brands and models (especially sound wise)? I'm thinking P's, J's and stingrays.

2. What are the common string gauges you find on a bass? What's considered light? As a guitarist, I'm used to a pick, but will that affect my tone?

3. Are any of the numerous picking techniques best? Or should I just use what works for me?

4. I'm looking for that classic solid bass sound, don't need anything that cuts through alot (I'm not flea or anything...), what amps do you recommend? And does it make a difference if I buy a combo or a head and cab?

5. And finally, what's the difference in sound between cab combinations? Like 4X10, 1x15 or 2x12...

I'm sure I'll think of more, but I don't want to annoy you all too much for now...

Thanks very much,
    Daniel

2. 88persuader

88persuader

Aug 5, 2007
    So many questions and 1000 DIFFERENT answers to each one!!! I'd say IF you want TRUE CLASSIC sound go for a Fender J or P bass through an Ampeg head with 4 or 8 10" speakers. Technique wise fingers give you more options then using a pick. That being said .... if 1000 of us answer these questions expect 1000 different siggestions.

Good luck! :)

3. JohnSS

JohnSS

Jun 4, 2007
    Hi Dan. I'm also primarily a guitarist who has been pressed into bass service for the greater good.