Guitarist making the switch....

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by GsmithMusic, Jul 31, 2005.

1. GsmithMusic

Jul 31, 2005
    hey guys,

I'm a guitarist who is buying a bass in the near future, but before i drop a grand I figured that I better get some advice first.

I'm planning on buying a Fender Highway Jazz Bass and replacing the pickups with Bartolinis. I have two fender guitars and the difference in craftsmanship is huge between my american and my MIM, however i dont want to spend the extra 400 to get a bonafide american jazz bass, especially since im replacing the pickups.

Good idea or no?

I was about to buy the bartolini's, and the site has two different choices, it says "The 9CBJD1 are hum cancelling Dual Coil Pickups - Deep Tone
    The 9CBJD3 are hum cancelling Dual Coil Pickups - Bright Tone."
    Which set do you guys recommend? My favorite players are Victor Wooten, Marcus Miller and John Myung. I don't want the tone too deep or too bright, so I'll just go with the ones you all recommend.

Lastly, I'll have 300-400 dollars for an amp. That pretty much confines me to combo amps, so which is the absolute best? I love the ampegs that i've played through, but again, I am ignorant in the ways of the bass.

Thanks for any advice... and Wooten rocks my face.
  2. Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    Welcome to the low end! I would say going with a Highway and replacing the pickups will be fine. Try to play it before you buy it just to make sure.

By naming the people you like, I would steer you towards getting the bright tone pickups.

Give this site a whirl. They're quite inexpensive. And here are some Ampeg combos for you. I have the BP210SP, and I love it!
  3. r379

Jul 28, 2004
    Dallas, Texas