Guitarist Quit - Band Doesn't Want to Cancel Gig

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by DeivoxCarnal, Apr 5, 2017.

1. I've been playing in a psych rock band for a couple of months.
    The gig in question is in 3 weeks.

If we can find another drummer the current drummer could easily fill in on guitar.
    But finding another guitarist isn't going to happen.

The guy who booked us still wants us to play and so does the rest of the band (keyboardist/vocalist and drummer)

I just got familiar with the material and I'm not all that comfortable vamping on it or really elaborating the bass lines so the idea of "filling in" the missing space is daunting to say the least.

I'm going to meet them for rehearsal tomorrow, but I sort of already have my mind made up that this formula doesn't work without a guitar.
    I think playing the gig is a bad idea, but the brief text message sort of sounds like they think it might work.

I want to be polite, but I don't want to seem like I'm being difficult.

Any advice?

2. dtripoli

dtripoli

Aug 15, 2010
    CA
    A drummer that plays guitar? Is that possible?
    I'm gonna have to rethink my whole, "fire the drummer" mantra.

3. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Inactive

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    I'm not hip to the term "psych rock". Is this a jam band or a band that does Jefferson Airplane covers or what?

So what if you DON'T find another drummer? They wanna do the gig with just drums keys and bass??? That would be awful.

Sounds like these guys are just desperate to play in front of people. But I admit there are lots of blanks not filled in so I could be wrong.

spaz21387 and Lvjoebass like this.
  4. And I

And I

Feb 19, 2009
    Witchtown, MA
    It's risky and I think I'd side with you inside but suck it up and play if I was the new guy... What are the details of the gig?

5. Stumbo

Stumbo Guest

Feb 11, 2008