Guitarist turned bassist looking for action (not that kind of action)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Ben Decko, Feb 8, 2021.

1. Ben Decko

Ben Decko

Dec 13, 2020
    Hello, All—

I am a guitarist mostly, who plays bass on a handful of tunes in my band. I bought my own rig recently: a used American Jazz Bass deluxe. I’m wondering if you can diagnose a playing problem for me.
    When I play bass I try not to use a pick, but when I use my fingers, my E string gets pretty “clicky” on the fret board because of my right hand technique (or lack thereof)...like I’m slapping the bass without trying to. The bass I have been using is a Mexican jazz bass and a great bass in its own way, but I don’t have that problem as much with that one, but My playing style is the same.
    Apart from the “touch” problem I likely have, is this a neck-action problem...a string-gauge problem.... or a “you bought a nice instrument...take the brick off your right hand” problem? Something else? I haven’t gigged with it yet, so I don’t know how it sounds live through an amp versus what I hear from my own low-volume practicing, but right now it sounds like movie sound effects of a passenger train car clicking along the tracks.
    Also, this doesn’t really happen when I’m using a pick.
    Please and thank-you....

2. knumbskull

knumbskull

Jul 28, 2007
    UK
    You could try raising the action a bit.

Doctor Morbius and Jeff K like this.
  3. 4andnomore

4andnomore

Nov 14, 2008
    Hm. Could just be technique or possibly minor setup issues i.e. neck relief/string height. I'd start by making sure the bass is set up properly and go from there. As has been mentioned, maybe raise the strings a little.Meanwhile keep working on that right hand technique and don't forget muting extraneous string noise with a combination of both left and right hand techniques.

Also, on bass a certain amount of fret noise can be good thing depending on your style and tonal goals. Rock on!