1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

guitarist turned bassist

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by derationalize, Sep 25, 2008.

1. derationalize

derationalize

Sep 25, 2008
    Alright...so I'm a rhythm guitarist that decided to pick up the bass since bass players are hard to come by in my region. I started playing with a metal band with a drummer who loves double bass and 2 guitar players who play 7 stringed guitars, so I need to get some commanding bass to fill the really lower registers.

I have an Ampeg SVT-400T on hand to use but I for now I'm stuck using one of my guitar cabs with it. I don't have too much cash to play with and I was wanting to save a bit for a nicer 5 string than what I currently have.
    I was thinking of getting 2 Acoustic B115 250w 1x15 Bass Cabinets...they run at 8 ohms each. How would I wire this? Would this be able to bring out what this ampeg should be able to do and convince the guitarists to turn their bass knobs down a bit?

2. That'd sound darn good IMO. Simply run the cabs either both outta the amp or 'daisy-chain' the cabs- outa amp into one then from that cab into the other cab. Either way w/ 2x8ohm cabs it'll give U 4 ohms

3. I'd say get a 2x10 or 4x10 instead of a second 15.

4. derationalize

derationalize

Sep 25, 2008
    I found an Ampeg BSE115T cabinet at a pawn shop today...the pawn guy said he'd give it to me for $160...is that a better idea than getting a brand new Acoustic 15" cab for $120? Does this Ampeg cab have a horn? More output than the acoustic? Would I be basically paying for a brand name?

And also, wouldn't a 4x10 cab be too midrangey and walk all over the lower mids of the guitar players since they're all downtuned anyways? Seems to me that it would be easier to find my spot in the sound by exaggerating the lows with 15s and letting the horns do their job of filling out the rest.