Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

H&K Quantum combos?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jock, Mar 3, 2005.

1. jock

jock

Jun 7, 2000
    Stockholm, Sweden
    I just played the 15 and 2x10 versions of these new combos in a store. They sounded really great and was a joy to lift. They felt and looked to be well made.
    Has anyone used one or heard how they behave in a real life situation. The test in the store cant tell me that. But if they can hold up alone in a band setting I´ve got serious GAS cause their tone was really good.

2. K Dubbs

K Dubbs Just graduated from OSU, Go Bucks!

Mar 16, 2002
    Toledo, Ohio
    unfortunately H&k doesnt' get much love or attention in general on this forum. I've been hunting for a used bassbase600 for about two years now with no luck. The quantum amps look really cool, and i'd be very interested to try one, but I can't even find new H&K stuff around here. Maybe its like asking how the food is during the thanksgiving dinner. Everybody's mouth is too full of goodness to say how good it is.

3. Sprudellio

Sprudellio

Oct 16, 2002
    Germany
    400 watts... come on that should be enough for most live situations.. if not, there's a di out on the back.

I've got the 15 combo but I'd say try to get the 12. I didn't like the 210... not really enough bottom for my taste. The 15 is rather fast for a 15 but I guess the 12 would be THE perfect compromise between bottom and attack.
    I've bought mine for 1200€ but now that the price has dropped to 900 they're really a GREAT deal and the 12 should be even cheaper.
    Some random thoughts:
    The quantum series seems to be H&K's take on the ampeg tone.
    The tube growl (which is a compressor actually) really helps to cut through and sounds great. The tube you see through the window only does the phase splitting for the eq.