Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Habitat for Humanity - Who does it?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by tplyons, Mar 3, 2006.

1. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Sunday morning at 6:00 AM I'll be on a van on my way to Robbins, Tennessee to work on Habitat for Humanity, a new build and we're supposed to be framing. This is my first time working with Habitat, but I've always done this sort of thing in the same area with my Church youth group and love it.

Who else does HFH work? Any good stories?

Oh, I'm also the trip's chef, and photographer. I'll be a busy guy.

Fortunately, and unfortunately, I'll have no internet down there. I can't see what's up with you guys, but I'll sleep a bit more ;)

2. MAJOR METAL

MAJOR METAL HARVESTER OF SORROW Staff Member Supporting Member

All the best with it Tim , May God's blessings be with you in this noble work. :)

3. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    As long as I don't get more blisters, I'll be fine :)

4. did it once

weird eh?

last one ya' woulda' expected

come one

admit it

5. This balances out the negative reputation earned by stealing snapple from the YMCA.

Still not joking

I don't knoe what to think about myself

6. m2o03

m2o03

Feb 27, 2006
    Iowa
    i've worked HFH before, it was fun; i don't really have any stories other than the fact that someone (not intending to harm anyone) brazed someones arm with a nail that was projected from an air nail gun...that could have been really bad...

anyway, i don't mind the work and enjoy staying out of trouble, so what better to do than help others? the people i've helped build houses for have been more than appreciative...makes a guy feel good. anyway, have fun and be safe, bro

Mike

7. syciprider

syciprider Banned

May 27, 2005
    Inland Empire