Had to give up the lessons

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Oldie but noobe, Jul 13, 2005.

1. Due to cut backs at work I had to give up my lessons after only a few months. I have no knowledge of theory. I just have the burning desire to play since I was a kid.
    I have been noodling around at ActiveBass and doing the things the teacher had me work on.
    What do you recomend I do to keep the ball rolling untill I can do lessons again?

I like Blues and old classic 70s stuff Rock and "Soul." As some of you know I am 55.

Thanks in advance
  2. thewanderer24

Apr 29, 2002
    SJ, CA
    at the very least, you should try to teach yourself the songs you want to learn. The more you can do this by ear, the better. It takes work, but that kind of figuring things out by ear is a very important skill. It also can be very rewarding if you focus on songs you want to learn.

you can still work on the stuff you started doing with your teacher, of course, too.
  3. glaing

Jul 1, 2004
    You might want to consider taking some online courses at http://www.musicdojo.com/. The classes are great and the prices are quite reasonable IMHO. I think this would be a good way to keep your hand in until you can take face-to-face lessons again.

4. Yikes!!!

Thats a bunch of great info. It will keep me busy :bassist:

Thanks Joshua

Also thanks wanderer and glaing
  5. Noobie, Joshua dispensed a lot of valuable infomation in his post, but i've found that those big chunks of infomation more often than not, raise more questions than they answer, without understanding the application of those hard theoritical facts and examples, without a teacher. (that is, if your a slow learner, much like myself)

If i may, because i share the same burning desire like yourself, i would suggest learning your major and corresponding relative minor scales and pentatonic scales.