Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Half fretted,half fretless bass.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Euclides, Sep 13, 2000.

1. Euclides

Euclides

Sep 13, 2000
    Has anybody ever heard of such an intrument?

I was considering de-fretting a 4 string J type bass from the 7th fret on to try to get the best of both worlds; you'd be able to play "straight" bass on the lower frets and play melodic singing lines up on the neck.( higher region )

Do you guys think it would work?

Could anybody please comment on that?

If you think it would work, where would you start de-fretting?

I did seach this forum before posting to see if this had come up before but couldn't find anything on the matter.

2. Euclides

Euclides

Sep 13, 2000
    Turock,

thanks for your post!!!
    I guess I'll be doing it.

Euclides.

3. Hey im new to talkbass and playing bass in general. ive been in a ska band playing bass for about 8 months now and i really have found the need for a fretless bass but i cant really afford a new bass. how would i go about defretting a bass as you mentioned?

4. Euclides

Euclides

Sep 13, 2000
    Soapbox,

http://www.mikelull.com and select featured repair.
    But we'd be leaving the first seven frets untouched.

5. thanks! i think i might just wait until i can afford a lined fretless bass i saw for fairly cheap...could you give me an estimate on how much it would be for the fret removal procedure?

6. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    you could always get one of these... :)D feeling very self-promotional today ;))

[​IMG]

7. extreme

extreme

Mar 20, 2000