Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hand care?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by schmittuml, Feb 15, 2005.

1. schmittuml

schmittuml Supporting Member

Oct 25, 2004
    Lowell, MA
    I have been playing for about 4/5 years now.....everything i know is self taught im getting decen at slapping, tapping, learnin thump now.....startin to take lessons to get the theory out of it and such, but my hands are lripped to shreds my fingertips are peeling like crazy...i was wondering what all you guys do to keep your hands in some prime condition or how you get them ready for shows?

-Brian Schmitt :bassist:

2. first get a good moisturizer, and apply it many times a day (if you can get it medicated because you are peeling). At night for a few days before you have to show off your wonder hands, apply a large amount of moisturizer to your hands and then put them in a pair of mittens, then go to bed. This is a quick meathod to get your hands looking nice if you dont have much time. Also, tho it may not be very manly a manicure is always nice once in a while, only because our hands are our tools to the bass and they should be pampered once in a while.

3. Tash

Tash

Feb 13, 2005
    Bel Air Maryland
    I used to glue my finger tips to a table top and then rip them off to get tougher callouses. Someone told me SRV did this so I thought it was a good idea.

I don't recomend it :)

4. NoisemakerD-Lux

NoisemakerD-Lux

Oct 12, 2004
    Dude, that's insane LOL.

:bassist:

5. He's just hardcore, not insane.

6. No thanks for me, that's craziness.