Hand cramps. HELP!!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by coater, Sep 24, 2005.

1. coater

Sep 24, 2005
    Hi. I need some help. I've been playing bass for about 9 years and I can't stand the cramps I get in my picking hand.

Does anyone know of any advice to help me get past them? I appreciate the help.
  2. j-raj

j-raj Bassist: Educator/Soloist/Performer Staff Member Supporting Member

Jan 14, 2003
    Atlanta, GA!
    #1. This is posted in the wrong forum...*moved*

#2. Take a look at the [BG]Technique section of our forums.

#3. Try warming up and warming down when you do your scale and hand exercises.
  3. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    Do you play your bass slung low or high? Did you always get cramps or have you just started to get them? How long do you usually play? Do you feel cramps when you're not playing?

A little more info would help a lot.
  4. Correlli

Apr 2, 2004
    New Zealand
    Not being hydrated enough can cause cramp. Poor diet maybe a factor.
  5. j-raj

j-raj Bassist: Educator/Soloist/Performer Staff Member Supporting Member

Jan 14, 2003
    Atlanta, GA!
    very very right!!! I completely forgot about that vital element!
  6. Correlli

Apr 2, 2004
    New Zealand
    During a gig, I will drink about 1-2 gal of water, particularly I'm sweating alot. seems like alot, but water also helps to keep the mind alert as well.
  7. Spikeh

Spikeh Sex Strings

1 or 2 gallons?! Bloody hell...
  8. I-Love-Ratm

Feb 24, 2003
    I get cramps too.I play mostly fingerstyle but when I play with a pick I get terrible pains in my right hand mostly in the area below the thumb(if you know what I mean) any tips??