1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Hand Health

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Fritz4Bass, Nov 21, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Musicians

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Bassists

1 vote(s)
    100.0%
  3. Hand Therapists

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Fritz4Bass

Fritz4Bass

Jul 8, 2009
    Hey gang:

My topic is Hand Health and more specifically I've been diagnosed with Osteoarthritis in my middle finger joints. I've been playing for 50+ years developing this condition over the past five years. My middle finger joints are stiff and swollen, my articulation is now compromised, I've been to a Traditional/Alternative MD, Rheumatologist, and spoken with a few physical therapists about hand health.

I have somewhat settled on a few methods to unstiffen my hands that start with washing dishes first thing in the morning with hot (not scalding) water, followed by taking specific joint supplements such as Tri Flex, Omega 3 Fish Oil, and most recently Turmeric with the latter producing rather swift results.

I go to the gym regularly three times a week, squeeze a rubber ball for 10 minutes while walking on a treadmill, and other exercises: just to keep flexible and moving. Also, I've been informed but have yet to try Parrafin Wax treatment therapy, and most recently looking into "Stem Cell" (my own) therapy via my doctor.

I'm open for other suggestions if anyone would like to join in the discussion.

murphy and Stumbo like this.
  2. Trouztrouz

Trouztrouz

Feb 6, 2013
    NoVA
    I had mysterious recurring pain in my hands and feet for years. Long story short, I now take a lot of vitamin D2 and magnesium supplements and things are much improved.

murphy likes this.
  3. BioDriver

BioDriver A Cinderella story

Aug 29, 2008
    Austin, TX