hand pain!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by tinabass, Dec 8, 2003.

1. tinabass

Dec 8, 2003
    I wonder if anyone can help! I've been playing bass for about 4 years now, and obviously suffered the right-hand blisters that every finger-picker gets. However, in the last year I've developed 'contact dermatitis' on my hands. Aparrently I'm also allergic to various metals, so I changed to nylon strings thinking that would help. Unfortunately it hasn't, and as a result every time I play I end up ripping the skin of all my fingertips, right hand and left.

Someone told me that you can buy finger protectors that are plastic, but still allow you to feel the strings. So far, plasters topped with gaffer (duck) tape is about the only solution I can come up with. As you can imagine, I can't feel the strings at all, and it tends to cut the circulation off! Does anyone know of these finger protectors and if so where you can buy them? I can't find them anywhere!

Also, does anyone suffer from a similar problem themselves and know how to solve it? (By the way, I've already tried playing with cotton gloves - hands still bleed - and leather gloves - can't feel the strings!)

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks x
  2. tucker

tucker Guest

Jan 21, 2001
    North Carolina
    maybe you should play guitar. you dont have to touch metal at all just a plastic pick
  3. rob_d

Jun 14, 2001
    Well, theoretically you do touch metal even if playing a guitar, because the frets are metal...same with the bass. Maybe that's why the change of strings didn't help. Besides, the guys a bass player looking for advice. I'm not sure telling him to play another instrument is what he's looking for.