Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hand Strengthing Excercises?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by tam82083, Jan 25, 2001.

1. tam82083

tam82083

Jan 25, 2001
    I'm a big time NEWBIE, and like I'm trying to start off learning to use all 4 fingers. The thing is that every time i try to use my 5th finger it slips or i don't have enought strength to make a sharp note. If you guys have any insites on this please please please help me. I own a Squier Affinity P-Bass. And I'm 17 years old and very small male.

2. do you mean 4 fingers on your fretting hand or your plucking hand? because you sure don't need to use your pinky for plucking.

as far as your right hand, well i may have read this elsewhere on the forum but here's an exercise:
    start with your left index finger on G string 9th fret, middle finger D string 10th fret, ring finger G string 11th fret, and pinky D string 12th fret. now, keeping your first and ring fingers pressed down on the G string, play the D string alternating between your middle and pinky fingers. do this for a while, then switch strings: index finger D string 9th fret, middle on G string 10th fret, etc. and play the D string the same way. eventually try shifting between all your fingers in either position.

3. 311 fan

311 fan

Sep 24, 2000
    La Verne, CA
    No! No! No! Try a hand strengthening devise. Tennis balls work fine. 10 mins a day will do you well. Keep practicing!

4. stephanie

stephanie

Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA
    My instructor gets a kick out of how my pinky likes to stay up in the air when I'm not using it! LOL :D

I was given an exercise similar to the one dancehallclasher posted about. Plus I use some sort of device too. Both really help.

And I need all the help I can get cuz I have very small hands! To give you an example: My pinky is only a teeny bit over 2 inches!!! Don't worry about size.