Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hand Thumb (thumb position)

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by bwsailer79, Aug 6, 2005.

1. bwsailer79

bwsailer79

Aug 5, 2005
    Laurel, MD
    I have a question... maybe two even.

Where does everyone put the thumb of their right hand when they play? I put it on the neck pickup. It's the most comfortable for me, but I was wondering if there were any other methods that people used and to find out if they found any advantages to doing it that way.

Also, how do you normally shape your fingers on the right hand. Mine are more curved; like a claw (but when I played the upright it was more strait).

I've been playing bass for over twelve years now. I took lessons in highschool, but that was on the upright bass. So I've never taken a lesson on the electric and I've finally decided to work on my technique... hehe.

I'm just curious about what other out there are doing.

2. Correlli

Correlli

Apr 2, 2004
    New Zealand
    rested on of of the P pickup, on top of the E string, on top A string, I have a thumb rest mount by the neck joint, and along the neck.

3. hello!

hello!

Aug 7, 2005
    hey i been putting my thumb on the pickup when i play ( using a jazz bass) and i thought of changing to a sting ray.However the sting ray pickups are like near the bridge and i would probably have to change the habbit i play right?

4. Suckbird

Suckbird Banned

May 4, 2004
    Sweden
    My thumb is floating.

5. bwsailer79

bwsailer79

Aug 5, 2005
    Laurel, MD
    Do you rest any part of your arm or hand on the bass?

6. Suckbird

Suckbird Banned

May 4, 2004
    Sweden
    Yes, the forearm.

7. I semi-float.