Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

handmade unknown basses vs. well known machine made basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by FungusHumungous, Jun 15, 2003.

Would you rather purchase...?

Poll closed Aug 14, 2003.
  1. a handmade bass from an unkown maker

34 vote(s)
    63.0%
  2. one bass of thousands made by a company thats been around for 30 years

11 vote(s)
    20.4%
  3. a porsche

9 vote(s)
    16.7%
  1. Here's the deal
    I've been playing bass for about 2 and 1/2 years so far and am seriously looking for a high quality bass. I have recently met a young bass guitar maker nearby who is creating beautiful works of art out of his garage, not to mention they play like a dream.

WHen I get the cash I'll most likely put up the cash and bya nice neckthru 4string maple/walnut/mahogony w/ bartolini etc. etc.

So check out the poll

2. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    Connecticut
    I chose to go with the luthier in a very similar situation recently. Build a rapor with the guy, and you'll probably be happier with the handmade.

3. Mike Money

Mike Money Banned

Mar 18, 2003
    Bakersfield California
    Avatar Speakers Endorsing Hooligan
    carrots

4. mark beem

mark beem Gold Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2001
    New Hope, Alabama
    KNOW THE BUILDER!!

If you trust him and like his work then I'd say go with the custom!!

5. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    Connecticut
    Umm...not at all actually.

6. rickreyn

rickreyn

Jun 16, 2000
    Lutz, Florida
    You had better spend a lot of time with the design and specing, because if you don't like it, you will have a devil of a time unloading it.

7. Ben Mishler

Ben Mishler